PR Student Profile: Carmen Cheung

Carmen CheungWhat’s your name?

Carmen PL Cheung

Where are you studying and what’s the name of your program?

I am studying in the Public Relations Certificate Program at SFU.

Date of Joining CPRS as a student member:

I joined CPRS in October 2013. 

What’s your average day like?

It depends.  But honestly, there is no average day for a PR student in my program.  The program I’m part of is broken into two sections.  I recently completed 6 weeks of classes from 9am-4pm Tuesday through Saturday.  Now, I’m into my third week of my 3-week practicum.  It’s been crazy!  No day is ever the same.  One minute I’m working on a communications plan, the next minute I’m helping to write speeches for upcoming events.

Are you an ‘early bird’ or ‘night owl’?

I used to be a ‘night owl’ but lately I’ve been an ‘early bird’ with classes, work, and volunteering.

What appeals to you most about working in PR?

What appeals to me is the excitement of not knowing what is next.  What first attracted me to PR is the fact that you are able to work with people.  I love the diversity of people we are able to meet in the PR industry.  It’s appealing that you can never predict 100% what will work and what won’t work.  It keeps things interesting.

What’s your dream job?

My dream job would have to be an event coordinator that specializes in the food and hospitality industry.  I love event planning and I’m a huge foodie.  It’d be perfect!

What’s your favourite PR campaign?

Soul Pancake – Street Compliments.

Who is your PR idol?

I’d have to say all my instructors at my PR program.  Honestly, I can’t imagine balancing work, teaching and my personal life.  They’ve been so helpful in the process and genuinely invested in the well being of their students.

What’s your favourite social network?

It used to be Facebook but now… I’m really starting to like Twitter.

Which coffee shop are you most likely to frequent?

Definitely Caffè Artigiano. 

A fun fact about you:

I was born in Hong Kong but moved to Richmond, BC when I was two years old.  I moved again when I was nine to Chicago, IL.  I have citizenship/residency in all three places.  So I consider myself Chinese Canadian American.

Categories

Archive

2017

2016

2015

2014

2013

2012